Forums / Discussion / General

171,009 total conversations in 5,490 threads

+ New Thread

Musical Instruments: what do you play? (or want to)

Last posted Jul 09, 2012 at 02:06AM EDT. Added Jul 03, 2012 at 09:25PM EDT
43 posts from 36 users

Well I think the subject is pretty simple, stick to discussion about instruments; whether they have strings, knobs, holes or belt drives. What do you play? If you don’t play any as of now, name one you would like to dabble in or just stuff you own lying around the house!

I’ve been playing the harmonica nonseriously for about 2 years now, I used to be into clarinet thanks to school band. I’m picking up the fife and doing random things with that and I have been playing paino/keys improv for nearly my whole life. I got myself a midi keyboard which allows much more sound when it comes to that department (8-bit synths! woohoo!)

There is a guitar and I think a alto sax in my home, and I’ve never bothered with them.
now it’s your turn!

Jul 03, 2012 at 09:25PM EDT

Suiseiseki     wrote:

Is mayonnaise an instrument?

No Patrick, mayonnaise is not an instrument…

Jul 03, 2012 at 09:32PM EDT

I used to play piano as well, but then I decided to get into recording instead. It’s been fun. I’ve also done some stuff with Reason a few years ago.

Jul 03, 2012 at 09:36PM EDT

I used to play piano when I was young, but then I got bored of it, so I stopped. I regret that decision.

Jul 03, 2012 at 10:09PM EDT

Trumpet.

Played for 7 years. Played in an award-winning marching band and concert band. Got so good at it, I got a military scholarship and put on 2nd chair on the first day.
Then the chronic disease nation attacked. Thank you very much, military health regulations.

Also used to play viola in elementary school.

Jul 03, 2012 at 10:16PM EDT

Alton Brown the windigo wrote:

contra alto bass clarinet you freakin’ boss

Jul 03, 2012 at 11:13PM EDT

^My brother plays that thing.

I, on the other hand, play the trumpet.