Forums / Discussion / General

169,837 total conversations in 5,439 threads

+ New Thread

Gamespot Tackles Sexism

Last posted Dec 08, 2012 at 12:12AM EST. Added Nov 30, 2012 at 11:29PM EST
48 posts from 21 users

Given how sexist the internet can be, making that video was a probably bad for their online reputation. Just look at the reception in the comments section.

Last edited Nov 30, 2012 at 11:56PM EST
Nov 30, 2012 at 11:45PM EST

So, is the complaint about gamers or game developers? Because I’m not a developer… and I don’t see most of the people this video reaches being very influential in the “industry”…

Dec 01, 2012 at 12:42AM EST

This really is stupid.

There is nobody forcing anyone to buy these “sexist” games, per say.

By this logic, lets fight against Far Cry 3 because it’s to violent.

Dec 01, 2012 at 05:08AM EST

My inner feminist is screaming inside.
This is why I have respect for Gamestop, though. They went on camera to state an unpopular opinion, and I’m glad they did it. It was also pretty funny.

@Nikolaki8: Did you watch the video? They were talking about how women are treated in the industry, not how women characters are treated in games.

Dec 01, 2012 at 10:45AM EST

Feminists…. ON MY INTERNET?!
HESGBFHBVHECJDBSBDFHJSBHDFJMOSTUNORTHODOXDHSHSHDFKAS

But seriously,
The gaming industry usually is one of the worst for discrimination of any kind, sadly, and this is usually through Homophobia and Sexism. Here’s a web series I personally am a fan of, and I’m not even a woman: