Forums / Discussion / General

232,895 total conversations in 7,787 threads

+ New Thread

The Walking Dead is Apparently Bad for America...

Last posted Oct 23, 2013 at 10:32AM EDT. Added Oct 22, 2013 at 04:51PM EDT
8 posts from 8 users

So I found this article that was posted on the Fox News website (surprise, surprise) in their health section. According to Dr. Manny Alvarez, the guy who wrote this article, America's obsession with zombies is "seriously hurting American society." But the main problem that I have with this article is that the author rolls out every single talking point in the book from "violent media conditions people to be apathetic to violence" to "Think of the children!" Definitely stick around for the third to last paragraph for one of the greatest examples of ham-fisted political shoehorning that I've ever seen.

However, the worst part of it is that he doesn't cite any kind of sources and essentially tells the reader, "trust me, I'm a doctor." But perhaps this could be an interesting discussion. Does anyone think that an "obsession" with zombies can be bad for society? If so, why?

I think that most "obsessions" tend to have fairly negative side effects. That's a fair observation, right? I'm going to use "obsession" in quotes because I don't think the good "doctor" fully grasps what it means to have an obsession.

Yes, an "obsession" with zombies could very well be a bad thing for society. A mass "obsession" with anything could be a bad thing.

The problem is that I don't feel like society as a whole is "obsessed" with zombies, so I don't really understand where this guy gets off.

He's acting like people are dismembering each other in the streets and it's "totally cuz zombies, breh."

Oh well. Anyways…

What I thought of the piece?

This shit's jank yo. Completely opinionated, lacking in any sort of coherent research.

But what do you expect? Fox News lel