Forums / Discussion / General

171,269 total conversations in 5,613 threads

+ New Thread

II

Last posted May 04, 2011 at 09:02PM EDT. Added Apr 13, 2011 at 10:56PM EDT
21 posts from 13 users

…And that was many years ago.

I’ve often spent my nights waking up in a cold sweat. Thinking of my glory days, so to speak. I lay in bed sometimes, absorbing the thin line of smoke seeping from an ashtray beside me. I like think to myself, “Is this what satisfaction feels like?” I shouldn’t know, really. I’m just a surgical intern from Deadpool who got lucky one day. Really, really, lucky. They tell me I’m a national hero. That no one’s as high up as me.
But it gets lonely at the top.
I have my friends, but they’ve always seemed somewhere else.
Griff moved from Featured years ago, but we still mail each other sometimes.
Blubber’s god-know’s-where right now, probably plundering a small coastal town in his retirement.
Silly old hippo, I always called him.
Now I just wish I had spent that time really getting to know him, and those around me.
I feel cold.
And sick.
The room I sit in is furnished with velvet and silk, and a fireplace on the wall in front of me warms me more often than I could need. But I don’t need that. I look out my window and through the clouds, I see what I once had. Skank-No, not Skank anymore. Now he’s Mister Streetlight.
Mr.Streetlight now has a wife, with poofy black hair and thick glasses. I think I can see them sitting in a park, feeding doves. Something I used to do when I wasn’t so old. Jostin’s the only one still with me, living next door. Sometimes we go out to bars and sing together, and that’s one of the few times I’m capable of smiling.
“How good it must feel to be enjoying the fruits of old age, living better than King Dubs did.”
But I don’t.
I have all the money I could ever need, and a house- nay, a tower of hedonism I lounge about in.
I haven’t a fear or problem in the world, and that in and of itself gives me one.