Forums / Fun! / Creative

11,725 total conversations in 468 threads

+ New Thread

Featured Featured
Where Can I Learn To Draw?

Last posted Nov 17, 2017 at 02:20AM EST. Added Mar 04, 2014 at 10:10PM EST
292 posts from 49 users

I made it my New Years Resolution this year to learn how to draw and right now I want to take it seriously. I know that there are quite a few books and tutorials out there for absolute beginners but i'm not sure which ones are the best choice or are worth spending money on.

I'm hoping to able to develop drawing skills so that I may one day be able to contribute to the site community and whatnot.

I guess since I was called upon, I will go ahead and give some advice.

There are multiple ways to get into drawing, usually either though copying another persons art style or by attempting to draw what you see. Both of them are equally as valid, and if you draw in another persons art style as long as the art style in question is semi-realistic (notice how I draw anime with more realistic body proportions), it's not that hard jumping into Still Life, or vice-versa.

Here is my main suggestion though: draw and draw often. Don't be ashamed of your work and don't be afraid to let other people critique you, sketch before you make the confident hard-trace, and for gods sakes DON'T EVER build up an ego over your work. You will never be the best artist who ever lived.

A fun way to draw often is to get into a continue-the-comic with somebody else. Just be certain you have a sketchbook, a comfortable pencil with a White Plastic Eraser (I prefer Mechanical), and have fun with it. That's how I got good.

Last edited Mar 04, 2014 at 10:47PM EST