BIC's For Her Ballpoint Pen Reviews | Know Your Meme
Meme Encyclopedia
Images
Editorials
More
Know Your Meme is the property of Literally Media ©2024 Literally Media. All Rights Reserved.

BIC's For Her Ballpoint Pen Reviews


Added by Brad • Updated about a year ago by Brad
Added by Brad • Updated about a year ago by Brad

BIC's For Her Ballpoint Pen Reviews
Category: Event Status: Submission Year: 2012 Origin: Amazon Region:
Type:
Tags: amazon, customer review, bic, ballpoint pen,
BIC's For Her Ballpoint Pen Reviews

Category: Event Status: Submission Year: 2012 Origin: Amazon Region:
Type:
Tags: amazon, customer review, bic, ballpoint pen,
BIC


Overview

Bic's "For Her" Pen is a line of disposable ballpoint pens designed for female consumers, produced and sold by the French manufacturer company Société Bic (BIC). Although the pens were introduced in June 2011, they became a trending topic in the news and blogosphere after tongue-in-cheek customer reviews of the product began to emerge on the online shopping site Amazon, in similar vein to the ironic appreciation of The Mountain's Three Wolf Moon t-shirt.

Background

In June 2011, a new line of BIC ballpoint pens dubbed "For Her" was introduced on Amazon.[2] Available in several "feminine" colors like pink and purple, the product was initially released in Europe but became available through online shopping sites in the United States. According to BIC's product description[1], the pen's notable features includes tinted thin barrel for a better handling for women and matching plug and ink colors.


(BIC-CRISTAL® FOR HER The Cristal reserved for women! Key Benefits This product is available in Europe Tinted barrel (pink, purple, blue, green or orange) thiner for a better handling for women Quality ink, quick drying and smooth writing . Tungsten carbide ball, perfect sphere and very resistant . Medium point: 1.0mm, ine width 0.4mm . Hexagonal barrel for comfortable handling . Clear tinted barrel for visible ink supply Plug color matches ink color . Ventilated cap compliant with ISO 11540/ BS 7272-1 standard Environmental benefits Available Colors Long lasting product : up to 2 kilometers writing length Light: designed and manufactured with just the right amount of raw materials . PVC free product

BIC's release of "For Her" products was initially picked up by women's gossip blog Jezebel in an article titled "Bic For Her: Finally, a Pen Ladies Can Use"[4] on March 11th, 2011. Though written in a satirical tone similar to the Amazon reviews that came more than a year later, the product largely remained in obscurity until August 2012.

Notable Development

On August 15th, 2012, Amazon user Happyshopper submitted a customer review of the product in a post titled "The pen for women that lets them KNOW they are women!"[3] featuring a tongue-in-cheek anecdote of how the pen significantly improved her sense of womanhood and inner femininity.


☆☆☆☆☆ The pen for women that lets them KNOW they are women, 15 Aug 2012 By Happyshopper See all my reviews This review is from: BIC For Her Amber Medium Ballpoint Pen (Box of 12) -Black (Office Product) Thank you so much Bic! These are more than just pens. They are little pink saviours. Every girl and woman should own one All my life I have written predominantly with black, blue, clear plastic, or, occasionally, metallic coloured pens. It never felt right. My sense of womanhood was deeply impacted by the lack of gender defined stationary. I remember once, writing in a public library, a child asked the time, and referred to me as 'mister'. Mortified, I reflected upon why I had been so cruelly misgendered. I mean, I'm no Marilyn Monroe but I like to make an effort! Then it came to me: I was writing with an ORDINARY pen. Nothing in this writing implement made it obvious that I was a WOMAN. The next thing you know, this child might have asked me to fix something! Or assumed I understood the ins and outs of science! Until I found your'for her' range of pens, I was in genderless limbo. No, make that hell. Horrified at the thought of a repeat incident, I wrote only in private. No amount of make up, pink dresses, heels, and jewellery could fill the aching sense of androgyny that now consumed me Concerned at my obvious deep misery, and apparent pen phobia, my friends and family began asking questions. How could I tell them? How would you? Then I saw them. First it was the pastel colours. Good, yes, but not clearly enough defined. A closer look and my heart skipped a beat. Could it be true? Pens 'for her'? I don't want to go into detail, but I will tell you that I emitted sounds of euphoria I never thought humanly possible Many tears were wept. Tears stained pink with feminine joy As you can imagine, I counted the minutes until this precious package arrived. I took the day of work, bought myself a new pink writing pad, and practically sprinted to the nearest busy café. Settled with a skinny mochachino, I pulled out my new 'for her pen (pink of course!). The result was astounding. As I began to write, flowers, heart shapes and ponies appeared on the page. I had unleashed and connected with my inner femininity! There was no stopping me now. You won't believe what happened next. A man, looking uncannily like Burt Reynolds (in his heyday no less!), approached me and said: 'Hey babe [Babe!]. That's a pretty pen for a pretty lady' Needless to say we are now engaged and living in blissful heteronormativity. Stan has even asked me to make a special request to you, Bic - for him' pens! He says they could be in the shape of beer bottles or golf clubs. And why stop there? (said Stan). A ruler that looks like a brick would make any man feel more of a man. He is so clever. He says you must make sure to send him royalties! How we laugh about that, every morning. (But seriously, do credit him if you take the ideas on board.) Anyway, I am sure there are still many more stationary items to be gendered feminine, and too little time! Thank you for giving me back my sense of womanhood, and please never underestimate your role in promoting the gendering of girls and women

In the following days, hundreds of other sardonic customer reviews followed suit on the product page, many of which poked fun at the superflous nature of gender-specific writing utensils.


☆☆☆☆☆ Revolutionary article-must buy!, 20 Aug 2012 By jonny (uk) See all my reviews This review is from: BIC For Her Amber Medium Ballpoint Pen (Box of 12) -Black (Office Product) This pen is great. I bought it for all my female friends and relatives. It enabled them, finally, to write things (although they may not yet know to do so on paper; but you can only expect so much, really). I thought they were just a bit slow My mother, a hard-working woman who raised twelve kids single-handedly whilst doing all the ironing (as nature intended), was furtively abashed by her illiteracy. Long would she gaze upon her husband and sons' scrawlings and would dedicate five minutes a day (which she really should have spent making sandwiches) to pray that one day she would be granted the ability to create such scribbles of her own. She's still a little slow on the uptake, but this product has definitely helped start the ball rolling. We tried to give her men's pens but she used to rip the cartridges out and drink the ink. Typical woman Anyway, it's good that BIC are finally doing something to aid the plight of women. Hopefully a range of 'for her' paperclips is on the horizon my wife has an awful time keeping her recipes together


☆☆☆☆☆ My life has been changed!, 20 Aug 2012 By M Holloway (UK) See all my reviews This review is from: BIC For Her Amber Medium Ballpoint Pen (Box of 12) -Black (Office Product) I never did very well at school. I wanted to learn and it felt like all the words I needed were right there in my head, but I just couldn't get them onto the paper in front of me. If I really pushed myself, I could sometimes manage to draw pretty flowers in the margins but this didn't please Sir and I was soon in all the bottom sets. What really confused me is that I had no problems in cookery or textiles. At the time I didn't understand why I could grip and use a wooden spoon or sewing needle but couldn't properly hold my black-coloured pen for more than 45 seconds without dropping it on the floor and weeping Things were a bit better when I left school to go and work sweeping up hair at the local salon yet again, the broom seemed to just fit into my grip as if it was meant to be there and I saved up to buy a pink laptop. I still had trouble writing for a long time because, although the case was pink, the keys weren't designed for female eyes which, as we all know, struggle to discern between shades of black and grey. I could write for about 4 minutes at a time, though, and that's how I found out about these wonderful pens for girls like me As soon as they arrived, I was soothed by the pink packaging I'd been feeling stressed after driving back from work because my hands just won't stay on the black, leather-effect steering wheel in my cute mini. Anyway, I quickly found a piece of notepaper with pictures of kittens round the edges and had a go at writing my name. It was amazing! The pen just stayed in place between my fingers, just like it always had for the boys in my class at school. Well, in no time I'd filled a whole notepad and had to go and get another one! Now I've gone back to night school and hope to realise my ambition of enrolling on a childcare course next year. I'm also halfway through writing an erotic novel set in Victorian times but with vampires! My only criticism of these wonderful pens is that I get a bit bored with all 12 looking the same. I get around this my customising each pack. At the moment, the pen I have in use is covered in stripes of glitter and I glued a pink pompom and one of those diamanté charms you get on mobile phones (I couldn't fit any more on my phone) onto the top. I think BIC should start adding pens like this to their range because some women find it difficult to hold tubes of superglue properly I asked the 6 year old boy who lives next door to help me


☆☆☆☆☆ Saved My Marriage, 27 Aug 2012 sten - Se all mu(Box of 12)- Black (omces This review is from: BIC For Her Amber Medium Ballpoint Pen (Box of 12) -Black (Office Product) I allowed my wife to write the grocery list with one of my pens. Shortly thereafter she went out and bought a bunch of flannel shirts, cut the sleeves off and grew a mullet. While she was writing her feminist manifesto, I secretly switched out the man pen with a BiC For Her. She's now back to baking apple pies, vacuuming in heels, and popping bennies in order to keep her girlish figure... like a proper American gal Thank you BiC!

The sudden influx of customer review parodies was once again reported via Jezebel on August 27th, followed by other Gawker Media-affiliated blogs like io9[5] and Gawker[6], as well as the viral culture news site BuzzFeed[7] on August 28th. The phenomenon also drew attention from major news outlets like ABC[8] and advertising industry blogs, including AdAge[9], AdWeek[10] and eConsultancy.[11]

Search Interest

External References


Comments ( 26 )

Sorry, but you must activate your account to post a comment.