Forums / Discussion / Serious Debate

14,092 total conversations in 681 threads

+ New Thread

ISIS

Last posted Aug 25, 2014 at 11:26AM EDT. Added Aug 24, 2014 at 08:20PM EDT
9 posts from 6 users

With the increased actions of Islamic militants ISIS (such as beheading people, etc.), the pope called them out on their shit and said they must be stopped.

Link

New crusade when?

All I know about this is that the US should keep its ass away from this. We left there for a reason. I think what's happening over there is disgusting and immoral, but the US isn't a superhero. George Washington might have been talking about Britain and France in his Farewell Address and it may not apply all the time, but in this case, I think it does. America, sit your ass down and deal with your own problems.

It's definitely a crisis.

Now I'm not an expert on this subject, but I've researched some basic knowledge that I feel needs to be shared and understood. If you follow world news, then you know that ISIS isn't just some minor terrorist group. They've commited counted atrocious, inhumane crimes, and they seem to be spreading and increasing in strength. Leaving them be is just asking for a threat to be ignored.

Now I'd like you all to take a look at this picture taken from Wikipedia today, August 24th.

Red represents area controlled by ISIS (note it is vastly debatable), beige represents area "claimed" by ISIS, and white represents the rest of Iraq and Syria. It should be stated that land control itself does not show how powerful the group is, but this is a visual on much they have spread.

Now it's up to you to decide who is "good", but there have been numerous resistance groups, such as the Kurdish Peshmerga, who are very efficient and professional soldiers that have taken back many ISIS occupied areas. Of course, not everyone welcomes the Kurds, religious, political, and land reasons.