Forums / Media / Websites

2,569 total conversations in 244 threads

+ New Thread

Do You Think Know Your Meme Should Become An Independent Website?

Last posted Nov 24, 2016 at 01:33PM EST. Added Nov 16, 2016 at 03:52PM EST
11 posts from 8 users

If we have the financials, the team, and all the knowledge to pilot this ship by ourselves, will we be able to get that opportunity?

I'm not an expert in business. I imagine, though, if KYM had the money to be independent, it'd be for the better.

But I don't see it happening. KYM's ads are getting increasingly aggressive and invasive, which is not a sign of a website that's overflowing with cash. The overflow of news and politics implies that the meme niche, also, isn't strong enough to draw the required revenue, so they have to sort of "pad" the main content with other stuff so that they can stay afloat.

In an ideal world, I'd love for an independent KYM that focuses on memes. This isn't an ideal world though, so I don't think it'll happen.

Kitty Katswell Said:

Never Sadly

There's no such thing as "Impossible". We haven't break the limits yet.

It would be amazing if KYM becomes independent. It would be a huge milestone to make it happen if we can make ends meet.

If Ads are becoming a hassle, why not set up a Patreon or some sort? Although that I'm broke and still an undergrad, I still and always will try to support this site as I can.

Last edited Nov 16, 2016 at 11:40PM EST

I don't know the economics of the site, so I don't know. If it scrapes by and relies on Literally's other assets to occasionally bail it out (which the ads suggest is what's happening), then being independent would be a huge mistake.

On the other hand, KYM is the highest Alexa ranked site they own (~2000th, compared to Cheeseburger's ~2500th and eBaum's ~4200th), so who knows how much money the site makes.