Forums / Fun! / Just For Fun

320,732 total conversations in 9,943 threads

+ New Thread

KYM Tech Support or: I need to buy a new laptop and suck at technology

Last posted Dec 14, 2012 at 12:38AM EST. Added Dec 12, 2012 at 08:50PM EST
18 posts from 12 users

So KYM, I need to buy a new laptop. However, I am not good with computer. I'm looking to spend around roughly $600, give or take a little. I'd like something that could run some games decently; Minecraft would be probably what I spent the most time on outside of the interwebs.

Are there any brands you'd recommend? Any specs? I'm really flying blind here. I have a general idea of the kind of numbers I want next to the right categories (i.e. RAM, processor speed) but I'm not really too sure about a lot of things, especially graphics cards.

When choosing a laptop, look at the type of graphics card (integrated vs. dedicated).

A dedicated video card has its own RAM that isn't shared and in general will offer better performance than an integrated/shared one.

At $600 its gonna be kinda hard to find a dedicated card though.

Look for these things:

• Since dedicated graphics are hard to get at this price range. Try to get integrated graphics from either AMD or Nvidia. If its Intel HD graphics you might have problems and issues. Intel HD Graphics 4000 and 3000 graphics are the most common ones out there)
  • RAM: For $600 you should be able to get at least 4GB (4096MB of RAM). RAM allows you to run more applications at the same time. But you don't really need a lot unless you run rendering programs or something similar all the time.
  • HDD (Hard drive): It should be 320GB+ if you don't have a lot of large files, you don't need a lot of space. If you do, you can get a PC with 320-750GB in this price range.