Forums / Discussion / General

232,905 total conversations in 7,788 threads

+ New Thread

300: Rise of an Empire

Last posted Mar 09, 2014 at 11:56AM EDT. Added Mar 07, 2014 at 04:56AM EST
9 posts from 7 users

Yeah, I also saw it because Roomates wanted to see it. "This is Sparta" I remember was said, but not anywhere close to how it was done in the first movie. Still bothered by the whole "We Greeks stand for FREEDOM" while not mentioning that the Greeks also had slaves. Of course, there's quite a few other historical issues (among other things).

Ok, this needs clearing up. As I have a huge Ancient Greek history fascination, I have some basic knowledge on this. As you all know, the Battle of Thermopylae was a battle against the Greeks and Persians in the Greco-Persian War. The common belief was 300 spartans guarded Thermopylae against Xerxes army. Now for a quick Google, that's partly true. I would estimate about 7000 Greek allies joined the battle. The Persian army is a little more debatable, (Herotodus estimates over a million.) The Greeks for the first days had a clear victory. Their technology was superior to the Persians, Hoplites with full metal armor and large shields, as well as the near-impenatrable Phalanx formation. The Persians, on the other hand, as displayed by the movie (though largely exaggerated) were used to large field battles wielding light armor and wooden shields. The "immortals" were simply more experienced better armored warriors. The way the Persians were able to be victorious was Ephialtes, a farmer, not a hunchback exile, and they flanked the Greeks. While some Greeks retreated at the approval of Leonidas, the Spartans maintained their position and were eventually killed by the outnumbering Persians.