Forums / Discussion / Meme Research

30,826 total conversations in 4,532 threads

+ New Thread

Academic Meme Research- looking for active conversations on the topic

Last posted Feb 27, 2013 at 10:09PM EST. Added Feb 20, 2013 at 12:26PM EST
17 posts from 11 users

I'm studying the use of memes in the classroom, how they may inspire critical thinking, effectively increase engagement, and to guide instruction to be taught from the perspective of the user.
I'm looking for active discussions from the perspective of the user (meaning, people who are talking about memes in informal conversations). A chat room may suffice, but there are always issues of ethical concern when subjects do not know they are being recorded. If anyone knows of an appropriate venue where conversations on memes can be recorded for qualitative research, I'd appreciate the suggestions

Hey, got your message! Hrm, my first thought is looking to see if you campus has a student group that would be meme-trendy that you could hang out with at a meeting. I'm thinking of something like a computer club/ gamer club/ etc. My university has, I believe, two groups of this type. You might want to contact the president of the club and give him/her the low-down on what your doing; that might help you alleviate your ethical concerns.

I can't think of any specific web-forums or other places where you could go and listen in without having those ethical concerns of people not knowing. At least with the student groups, you could tell them you were doing research on "memes" but not give them any specifics. That way you could broach the topic but not guide the conversation to educational purposes.

Good luck with it! Sounds interesting!

Last edited Feb 20, 2013 at 03:23PM EST

Our substitute teacher drew a retarded looking cat and wrote
"I can't BRAIN today
I has teh DUMB" probably to reach kids better. Memes should stay in the internet, it's sad when teachers use them to make school more funnier or interesting