Forums / Fun! / Memeory Lane

63,534 total conversations in 189 threads

Locked Locked
[General] Over obsession with waifu. any help?

Last posted Nov 09, 2014 at 12:36AM EST. Added Nov 06, 2014 at 02:46AM EST
44 posts from 24 users

I fear I may have become overly obsessed with a fictional character. I have never actually watched the anime the character is from, which might have contributed to problem, so when I found out near the end of the anime the character hints that there is a "thing" between my waifu and another character I have no real interest in, something kinda snapped in me. Up till this point I have had no problems looking at pictures of them together, my lack of knowledge of the anime meant that I assumed it was just harmless internet shipping. From my knowledge of the character she ends up alone at the end.

I snapped when I found out and ended up going through the like 1000 pictures I have of her (I've been collecting them for at least 6 years so thats like less than half a picture a day) and sorting them between pictures of her alone and pictures of her with anyone else. Even OCs that had nothing to do with the anime. Took me like an 1 hour and at the end I kinda felt sick. I can still look at her alone in pictures, but the second I see her with that character it feels like my heart skips a beat and I get upset and angry. I tend to be pretty calm about these things. I've shipped plenty of characters from other shows that don't go together and didn't care one bit when a character doesn't end up with the character I shipped them with (I try to keep them self contained but thats beside the point). So I was genuinely freaked out when I took a break, stepped back, and really looked at how I was feeling and reacting. I'm not sure If I am just obsessed with a character and am experiencing just jealousy, or something else. The fact that I've considered her my waifu for 6 years probably doesn't help the situation.