Forums / Maintenance / Suggest Ideas

6,920 total conversations in 569 threads

+ New Thread

Locked Locked
Criteria for banning

Last posted Jan 23, 2013 at 10:34AM EST. Added Jan 20, 2013 at 05:26PM EST
15 posts from 8 users

Hi, I'm a bit of a noob and would like to know what the general criteria is for banning someone. Could you ban someone like this guy? Look at his activity. He tends to lurk around political pages.
https://knowyourmeme.com/users/daddytype
I'm just wondering if excessive trolling is something you can ban someone for. I apologize for bothering the forum.
P.S. My old account was called Wukongbobble so if you see him mention @Wukongbobble that's me. I deleted the account so he couldn't post nasty things on my wall like he did to quite a few other commenters.

We ban based upon repeated or a severe violation of most rules.

On the whole, that means an informal warning, a formal warning, a week-long ban(s), and then a permanent ban. However, depending upon each situation and which rule is being broken, a user can be instantly permabanned (usually reserved for spambots.)

In his case, I'll look at his full activity and send him a warning of some sort. I don't think any other moderator has warned him yet, and unless he's actively uploading X-rated material or the like, then I likely won't ban him. The warning may be formal (if I think he's actually trying to troll) or informal (if I think he's just being a jerk.)

Other moderators are more and less strict, so I may warn him and then another moderator may go and ban him.

Just as a curiosity, is there any official way for strikes against an account to be shared amongst moderators? Or is that heavily reliant on communication?

Natsuru Springfield wrote:

Just as a curiosity, is there any official way for strikes against an account to be shared amongst moderators? Or is that heavily reliant on communication?

Both.