Forums / Discussion / Serious Debate

14,076 total conversations in 680 threads

+ New Thread

Unpopular opinion debate thread,

Last posted Dec 06, 2017 at 07:11PM EST. Added Nov 22, 2017 at 10:58PM EST
236 posts from 32 users

Kind of like a shitposting thread, but at the same time kind of serious. What I mean by this is that if you have a unpopular opinion go ahead and share it, BUT you have to present a reason why you think such a opinion and if you debate someone's unpopular opinion you have to present in not a asinine way.

Basically:
No berating a person as a individual (obvious)
No trying to redefine commonly used words to suite your needs. Sadly this happens often times in controversial subjects where rather than putting for a reason they try and redefine a word.
Don't go "I'm a expert in this" unless you have accreditation in said field; like don't say you're a expert in micro-biology unless you are actually a expert.
If you are going to post a reference to data on something if it is peer reviewed scientific journals go ahead; if it's say a random blogpost don't immediately pass it off as word of god. Sometimes you do run into blog posts (once in a blue moon) that have a damn good point, but often times most internet blogs are just that blogs and opinions.