Anthony Lane's Incredibles 2 Review

Anthony Lane's Incredibles 2 Review

Part of a series on The Incredibles. [View Related Entries]

Updated Jun 20, 2018 at 02:44PM EDT by Adam.

Added Jun 20, 2018 at 02:14PM EDT by Adam.

PROTIP: Press 'i' to view the image gallery, 'v' to view the video gallery, or 'r' to view a random entry.

Overview

Anthony Lane's Incredibles 2 Review refers to a controversial review by New Yorker film critic Anthony Lane for the Pixar film The Incredibles 2 that many felt inappropriately betrayed the author's sexual attraction for Mrs. Incredible, aka Elastigirl.

Background

On June 18th, 2018, The New Yorker published Anthony Lane's review of The Incredibles 2.[1] The review, though positive, featured a lot of sexual innuendo and suggestion. For example, the first paragraph of the review reads (note: emphasis added):

As a rule, any marriage in which one partner can willingly cry out to the other, “Trampoline me!,” inspires only envy and awe. In the heat of the action, that is what Mr. Incredible says to Mrs. Incredible, in “Incredibles 2,” and I’m disappointed to report that the action in question is merely the manic pursuit of a gigantic drill that is whirring through a crowded city and demolishing everything in its path, rather than a lazy afternoon in the marital boudoir with the door discreetly shut.

Later in the review, another paragraph seemed overtly sexual, implying that the film would make parents uncomfortably sexually aroused, and perhaps even masturbate. It reads (emphasis added):

Which bring us to the other event. Take your seat at any early-evening screening of “Incredibles 2” in the coming days, listen carefully, and you may just hear a shifty sound, as of parents squirming awkwardly beside their enraptured offspring. And why, kids? Because Mommy just leaned over to Daddy and whispered, “Is it just me, or does Mrs. Incredible kind of look like Anastasia in ‘Fifty Shades of Grey?’ You know, the girl in the Red Room, with the whips and all?” And Daddy just rested his cooling soda firmly in his lap and, like Mr. Incredible, tried very hard to think of algebra. As for how Daddy will react later on, during the scene in which Helen and the husky-voiced Evelyn unwind and simply talk, woman to woman, I hate to think, but watch out for flying popcorn.

Developments

The following day, Twitter user @amandawtwong posted a screenshot of the latter paragraph, gaining over 1,600 retweets and 5,800 likes (shown below).


Amanda Wong @amandawtwong Follow Holy crap, WHAT is with The New Yorker's review of The Incredibles 2? Gross. Which bring us to the other event. Take your seat at any early-evening screening of "Incredibles 2"in the coming days, listen carefully, and you may just hear a shifty sound, as of parents squirming awkwardly beside their enraptured offspring. And why, kids? Because Mommy just leaned over to Daddy and whispered, "Is it just me, or does Mrs. Incredible kind of look like Anastasia in 'Fifty Shades of Grey?' You know, the girl in the Red Room, with the whips and all" And Daddy just rested his cooling soda firmly in his lap and, like Mr. Incredible, tried very hard to think of algebra. As for how Daddy will react later on, during the scene in which Helen and the husky-voiced Evelyn unwind and simply talk, woman to woman, I hate to think, but watch out for flying popcorn 3:29 PM 19 Jun 2018

Once the tweet began circulating, news publications began covering the bizarreness of the review. Deadspin wrote of it, saying "New Yorker Film Critic Has Reservations About Children's Movie Because His Boner Kept Blocking The Screen."[2] The Mary Sue[3] also criticized the review's existence in a piece. Twitter users also mocked the piece. User @MKupperman posted a parody of the review, gaining over 100 retweets and 600 likes (shown below, left). User @JGrebes posted a photoshopped parody of the review, making the title "I Want to Fuck the Cartoon" (shown below, right).


MKupperman @MKupperman Follow Anthony Lane's review of The Incredibles 2 in the New Yorker is really something! she purrs "now let's go home." At this point I had had enough, and, staggering to my feet, pushed past other astonished moviegoers in my hurry to get the men's room and frenziedly masturbate to this children's cartoon. Judging from the other aroused grunts emanating from the men's room stalls as I waited my turn, I wasn't alone. Not since "The Devil in Miss Jones" has a movie displayed this kind of sexual power. I give it two exhausted thumbs up 5:12 PM 19 Jun 2018 James Grebey @jgrebes Follow this new yorker Incredibles 2 review is nuts CULTURE DES I WANT TO F--- THE CARTOON By Anthony Lane oe 18 2018 Microsoft Surface A battery life that lasts from day to night beaunful Surface Laptog Hden is the wndowihdead stuar of "Iecredibes 2 precisely because she is foreser tn in ber abligations and becane nsh, Elatigirl, cam mend tbe tar 5:40 PM 19 Jun 2018

Online Reactions


michael lutz ( Follow ) @WarrenlsDeac THE NEW YORKER FILM REVIEWER: I Incredibles 2 EVERYONE: we're afraid that Brad know what we're all thinking about The Bird's charm is growing thin over his libertarian leanings? THE NEW YORKER FILM REVIEWER: yes, that's right, we want to watch Mr. and Mrs. Incredible f--- 10:51 PM-19 Jun 2018 FormerGregSamsa @MJaMitchell Follow The best part from the New Yorker's Incredibles 2 review is the implication that men are getting such sudden and violent boners that their cocks are propelling buckets of popcorn from their laps into the air. 6:11 PM 19 Jun 2018 steve donoghue @stdonoghue Follow l've been re-reading it all day, and I still think that Anthony Lane "Incredibles 2" review was the most inventive resignation letter ever written. I mean, I'm assuming he no longer works at the New Yorker, right? 12:11 AM-20 Jun 2018 "Stefano's masterful direction of S... Follow @THE Stefano DLC A New Yorker review of THE INCREDIBLES 2 is a poor place to talk Thrist for cartoon characters tbh. That's what Twitter is for. So with that in mind yes, Helen Parr/Mrs. Incredible/Elastigirl got dat Jessica Rabbit booty that will awaken many people across gender/sexuality/age 4:50 PM 19 Jun 2018

Search Interest

External References

Recent Videos 1 total

Recent Images 8 total


Top Comments


+ Add a Comment

Comments (46)


Display Comments

Add a Comment


Hi! You must login or signup first!